Skip to content

A Foodie’s Guide to SXSW Panel Picking

August 18

Share/Save/Bookmark

cupcakes

Vote with your stomach.

by Erik Deutsch

SXSW (South by Southwest) is a film, music and interactive media festival that takes place every March in Austin, TX. The Interactive program features five days of presentations and panel discussions from some of the brightest minds in digital media.

Each year, thousands of panel ideas are submitted to SXSW, and the best are selected to be part of a public selection process that allows the online community (i.e., people like you) to vote on which panels will make it into the final program.

So this is where you come in. As a fellow foodie and home cook, please help us support the culinary-themed panels listed in our following “Foodie’s Guide to SXSW Panel Picking” list.

Voting is quick and easy, and it ends on Sept. 4th…  so vote today!

Picture 57SXSW Food-Themed Panels:

 

Picture 61

Picture 57Honorable Mention (or Best Use of Food in a Panel Title):

Picture 57Panels by Friends of BakeSpace & Fellow Foodies, but Not Food Related:

Please feel free to comment below which panel’s you think foodies may want to check out. This list is by no means complete.

How to Vote:

Visit the SXSW Panel Picker and browse the selections. Or you can simply click on the links above to go directly to each corresponding panel. Before your vote is counted, the SXSW Web site will ask you to register (it’s super quick and easy). Once registered, you’ll be able to click on the “thumbs up” icon to vote. That’s it!

Click on bird above or tweet this: Foodie’s Guide to SXSW Panel Picking http://bit.ly/foodsxsw – Voting ends Sept 4!

9 Comments
  1. Cookiemonster permalink
    August 18 7:25 pm

    How cool! Thanks for the extensive list. I had no idea there were food-themed panels at SXSW.

  2. August 19 9:34 am

    Don’t forget my submission!

    “The Yelp Effect: When Everyone is a Restaurant Critic”

  3. August 19 9:51 am

    Addie, yes.. thanks for posting. We’re big Austin360 fans. 🙂 In fact, I’m wearing the black t-shirt now! How ironic is that. I got it at last year’s SXSW I think at the Whole Foods Food Blogger party. 🙂

  4. August 19 2:12 pm

    Bakespace – thx for the mention, I will def retweet this. I love it too that SXSW is getting such a great food/tech/green angle going.

    Now I just wish they could make their event zero waste. I submitted a proposal to the director of green but didnt get much back. No reason not to since good planning saves tons of waste and barely costs more.

  5. August 20 9:42 am

    Hi Steven –

    My pleasure! Zero waste would be awesome. Thanks for retweeting this post. I figured we needed to support our food friends.

  6. August 20 11:36 am

    Thanks for including me! I hope you check out my panel idea:

    http://tinyurl.com/ashleysxsw

    I have added comments with possible panelist. Should be a good one.

    I would appreciate your vote.

  7. August 20 11:38 am

    Oh, one more thing. I grew up in Austin and SXSW is one of the most exciting weeks. There are amazing musicians, artist, directors, inventors and other creative types all over. I go back every year for the fest and hope many of you get to come and see the greatest part of the Texas.

  8. August 20 12:29 pm

    Ashley – just voted for ur presentation. Looks fascinating. We should talk. I regularly work with the director of social media for the USDA (yes they do have one!).

    Im also helping media matters put on a preso here in DC.

    I would be interested in learning more about what you do.

    Steve@acleanlife.org

    Steve

  9. August 25 8:14 am

    What a great blog post. And I’ll be attended my first SXSW next March. Can’t wait.

Comments are closed.

